Lleiniog Barns, Penmon, Anglesey
An exciting new development of an exclusive range of residences currently in the process of full restoration within the rural hamlet of Penmon, being located just yards from the scenic Menai Strait foreshore and the magnificent backdrop of the Snowdonia Mountains.
Several homes are on offer of 2, 3, 4 bedrooms to suit, many of which are former barns and outbuildings, the main dwelling being Grade II Listed and offering exceptional originality and character, something which the reputable developer is keen to preserve and highlight. The interiors (some coming to completion) are finished and presented to a particularly high standard throughout with a keen sense of quality and attention to detail being paramount.
The original dwelling is probably late 16th century, remodelled in the 18thcentury, then extended in the 19th century by the successive addition of rear service accommodation and a large north wing. In 1847 Lleiniog was a substantial farm of over 90 Acres (36.43 Hectares), which formed part of the estate of the Right Honourable Lord Dinorben, farmed and occupied by Owen Jones and his family. As mentioned, the associated farm-buildings are now being converted. It’s listed as a substantially sub-medieval house with significant surviving interior detail, the outbuilding also display much originality.
Of interest is that the name Lleiniog first appears in the historical record in association with the medieval Castle Lleiniog or Aber Lleiniog, of which the ruins survive some 500m to the west of the present house or Plas. The motte-and-bailey castle is thought to have been built for Hugh d’Avranches Earl of Chester, c1090. It is of considerable historic significance as a substantial (and possibly the only) surviving structure built by the Normans on Anglesey during their late-11th century incursions into Gwynedd.
The peaceful hamlet of Penmon is situated in a country setting close to the shoreline, towards the south eastern tip of the Isle of Anglesey with the fabulous Black Point Lighthouse and Puffin Island just a short distance away. Within roughly 1 mile lies the village of Llangoed which has local amenities of a convenience store, post office, public house and primary school with a greater range of services available in Beaumaris and Menai Bridge. From higher ground, the views towards the bay of Conwy and the Snowdonia mountains is quite dramatic. The historic town of Beaumaris boasts a castle dating back to 1295, a Victorian pier and promenade. You will also find quaint streets to explore and a wide variety of independent shops, taverns, restaurants, art galleries and antique outlets. The countryside within the vicinity is dotted with public footpaths including the Anglesey coastal path, allowing for opportunities to explore the fine coastline and fabulous scenery.